The Meeting of the Interfaith Couple and their Teacher: A Most Unlikely Rendezvous!


Worlds Collide

Interfaith Meet-Up in Siena

by Marion L. Usher, Ph.D.

(Dr. Usher has been conducting interfaith couples workshops at the Washington DCJCC for nearly a decade. For more information about her fall workshop click here. )

It was a beautiful night. There was a cool breeze in the air, we had just finished a sumptuous dinner, and had consumed an indulgent amount of smooth red wine. I could still taste the lingering tangy flavor of the lemon sorbet which finished off the meal. The evening light was amber and luminous. My husband and I were strolling back to the hotel holding hands and enjoying this magnificent place. This is what vacations are all about!

And then I hear someone calling in the dark, “Dr. Usher, Dr. Usher is that you?” Before I turned around to find the voice, a couple approached me with “I can’t believe it’s you!” And there they were: Jessica and Shanon, a couple who had just participated in my last interfaith couples workshop. What a wonderful reunion and what a coincidence to meet in this idyllic Italian town! Shanon’s parents had rented a villa nearby and they were in Siena for the day. Introductions were made all around. I met Shanon’s sister, his brother and their partners, and his parents who were generous in their praise of the workshop. Shanon and Jessica had told them all about the sessions and they were incredibly supportive of their attending the group. I took a picture of the whole family. Hugs all around and we said our goodbyes.

This was truly a most unlikely and totally incredible rendezvous!

PS. When I sent this vignette to Shanon he reminded me of another coincidence; the family picture was taken in front of the shop of a Hebrew calligrapher artist, something of a rarity in the tiny town of Siena with its infinitesimal Jewish population!

