Stephen Colbert Rips-Off The Blog at 16th and Q with Salinger Schtick


Yesterday, I posted what should have been obvious: that our April 1 post announcing a reading by J.D. Salinger at the 16th Street J of his new work was just a joke. The reading was supposed to take place on April 31st, a day which does not exist, but if you were looking for it on the calendar, your finger would be hovering between yesterday and today, May 1. I thought it was a decent joke. A couple of people actually registered for the event online. As jokes go, I thought it was okay. I’ve done better. So I was surprised to be watching the Colbert Report last night and learn that our schtick had been stolen…

Vodpod videos no longer available. video source posted with vodpod

Taking a page from his book (not that I bought it), Mr. Colbert, we demand an apology. And just as you have threatened to tear out a story from Nine Stories for every night that Mr. Salinger does not appear on your program, so will we delete an episode of your show from our TiVo until you acknowledge that you or your writing staff are lifting material from this blog. Imitation is the highest form of flattery, but sir, have the decency to acknowledge your sources.

6 Responses

  1. I realize you’re just joking here, but, to be fair, Colbert has been joking about wanting to have J.D. Salinger on the show forever. For example, during the “shred-off” with the Decembrists he mentioned having to bump Salinger because they ran out of time; and during a Q&A at Harvard University’s Institute of Politics in 2006, he asked the audience if they thought he had a shot at mobilizing the Colbert Nation to get Salinger on the show.

  2. Thanks Hannah. But don’t let your little “facts” get in the way of a good conspiracy theory. Stephen would not approve.

  3. So true: Stephen would likely approve of you going with your gut on this one.

  4. Uh – good luck there with your – endeavors?

  5. If Colbert really wants to get Salinger on his program, he should use bait that will attract Salinger. According to Salinger’s daughter and his former lover (Joyce Maynard), Salinger’s leading passion is homeopathic medicine. He is known to read homeopathic books for several hours each day.

    I challenge Colbert to invite me onto his program to be that bait. I have written 9 books on homeopathic medicine, including my newest book, “The Homeopathic Revolution: Why Famous People and Cultural Heroes Choose Homeopathy. This book includes detailed information about the use and/or advocacy of homeopathy by many of the leading cultural heroes of the past 200 years, including several dozen of the leading literary greats (for details, see http://www.HomeopathicRevolution.com).

    I have never thought of myself as bait, but heck, it could work!

  6. Very interesting! I wondered about the reference to Salinger on the Colbert Report. I predict Salinger will NEVER come on the Colbert Report, no matter how much we might wish this. I actually believed it and turned in excitedly to see him. *Smack head*!!

    Good luch with that, though!

Comments are closed.